Ray Bradbury Challenge

A few years ago I heard about the Ray Bradbury Challenge, also known as the 52 stories challenge – to write, edit, and submit a short story every week. It sounded like a cool idea, but I was in no way ready to do something like that. Well! I’ve decided to take the challenge now.

I did some research on the challenge to find out more, and found many communities participating in the challenge and encouraging each other. This blog of someone’s attempt at the challenge in 2013 explains more about it:

The Ray Bradbury Challenge is based on advice Ray gave to writers. Part one is to read one short story, one poem, and one essay every night for 1000 nights. Part two is to write at least one short story every week for a year or more. He said it’s impossible to write 52 bad stories in a row. It must therefore also be impossible to write over 140 bad stories in a row!

I hadn’t heard about the first part of the challenge… but I think I’m going to try that, too! I have no idea where I’m going to find 1,000 essays, but I have a lot of books of short stories and lit mag subscriptions lying around that I need to read. This would be a great way to motivate myself to do that. 🙂 That blogger didn’t do all 1,000 readings in a row – they just endeavored to read 1,000 of each over time. I think that’s how I’m going to do it, since I tend to be terrible at “every single day” type challenges.

But about the writing portion, which is the portion I am most interested in…

I’m definitely going to cheat to start out with, since I have a lot of partially-finished stories. 😉 If I spend like, 3 days writing, 3 days editing, then submit on the last day, I think I can pull this off.

I’m (hopefully) going to post a weekly update with how things are going! But I’m TERRIBLE at routine and updating things, so please don’t come after me with torches and pitchforks if I slack off! (Assume the best – that I’m too busy writing? Hahaha….)

Leave a Reply

